Bernhoft Announces New Album, 'Islander,' Due in April

Written by variance staff on .

Norwegian retro-soul singer Bernhoft announced on Thursday that his third full-length album, titled Islander will be released on April 29 via Big Picnic Records.

According to a press release, Islander was inspired by Swedish pop, the trailblazing soul of Stevie Wonder and Sly Stone, and the intricate folk-rock of Carole King. The new set was recorded in England’s Isle of Wight and was produced by Paul Butler (Michael Kiwanuka and Devendra Banhart).

“As I was writing for Islander a lot of the lyrics had references to boats and water and bridges,” said Bernhoft regarding the album. “It’s almost like I was saying, ‘Hey, come on board, I’m gonna take you for a ride, and hopefully for the next hour you can forget about your troubles.’ That’s the kind of album I most wanted to make; one where the songs are in good spirits, and maybe they can help give you a new sense of hope.”

Tracklist For Islander:
1.     “Come Around”
2.     “Wind You Up”
3.     “Freedom”
4.     “Don’t Let Me Go”
5.     “Chale Skit”
6.     “Everything Will Be Alright”
7.     “One Way Track”
8.     “No Us, No Them” Ft. Jill Scott
9.     “Arsy Skit”
10.  “ESIWALK”
11.  “I Believe In All The Things You Don’t

blog comments powered by Disqus