James Joiner

After teasing new music earlier this week, Modest Mouse has delivered. Their new single "We Are Between" arrived Wednesday.

The hypnotic cut is the first preview of the band's upcoming seventh album The Golden Casket, which is out June 25 via Epic Records. It's produced with Dave Sardy and Jacknife Lee, and it's their first new record in six years.

"We are somewhere between the dust and the stars," declares frontman Isaac Brock on the new track, a preview of 12-song album which is said to explore themes of "degradation of our psychic landscapes and invisible technology, to fatherhood."

Hear the new song below.