Maria José Govea

Diplo is getting back to his roots, and it definitely shows on his newly released self-titled record.

The 14-track project, out Friday via the Higher Ground imprint of his own Mad Decent label, shows the producer at his finest, thriving in crisp house beats while exploring new territory with few reservations. 

Some of the record's high points include previously released tracks such as "Don't Be Afraid" with Jungle and Damian Lazarus, as well as "Don't Forget My Love" with Miguel," but it shouldn't come as a surprise that "Your Eyes," featuring RY X, is definitely a favorite, as is "Humble" with Lil Yachty and "Let You Go," with TSHA and Kareen Lomax.

“This is the first proper Diplo album since [2004's] Florida; a fantastic and cohesive self-titled work that will stand as a career-defining moment,” says Jasper Goggins, Mad Decent label head and Diplo’s collaborator of more than 20 years. “The features and collaborations may look like contemporary industry algorithmic engineering, but this album is actually purpose built for Diplo’s favorite places to play in the world; a testament to his almost absurd and undying love of DJing live in front of people.”

The album certainly belongs on your weekend soundtrack. Hear it now.